top of page
Search
  • Chris Connolly

My Plays For Saturday

Updated: Sep 26, 2020

Thank whatever it is that happy people thank when their working week is finally over. Plenty of stories this week, something of a same old, bloody virus causing havoc, cheeky jockeys having the temerity to pinch races from the front.... Yada yada!! Below are a few thoughts and fancies of mine for Saturday, unsurprisingly (To those who know me) Newmarket makes no appeal outside of the Cambridgeshire, so feel free to give me a nudge if you have unearthed a good thing that will pay my table service bill for the weekend.


14:40 Haydock

Mid Winster gained compensation for a rather luckless near miss at Doncaster when comfortably seeing off a decent yard stick at Ayr. Usually I would be fairly cautious of backing a horse to follow up given this race is much harder although I couldn't help but feel that she had plenty left in her. Count D'Orsay beat Came From The Dark by half a length last time, the latter really ought to gain revenge in that battle off the revised terms and looks a fairly worthy favourite. The rest are basically hard to enthuse over, either out of form, from struggling yards or on marks one would rather they weren't though Dark Shot looked something like his old self when dotting up the other day. Despite the 5lbs rise in the weights though, I would be disappointed if Mid Winster couldn't at least hit the frame.

Mid Winster (E/W - 4 Places, 10/1)


15:10 Haydock

This could turn into something of a project for me, a little like happened last season although luckily instead of teetering on the edge of the cliff, I managed to jump on at the correct time. Quick Look being the horse in question. Perhaps worryingly, he has been rather more consistent this term than I had hoped. As I already touched upon, there is every chance tomorrow won't be his day, his one prior attempt at this course ended miserably but he is on a fair mark and at 15/2 my hand was forced. The rest do not interest me in the slightest, Mick Easterby has been amongst the winners, if this isn't the day for Quick Look, I'm quite sure it will be soon.

Quick Look (E/W 15/2)


15:35 Newmarket

Sinjaari had been on my radar for what felt like an age after a rather luckless campaign last season. Given I have already explained my thoughts on him over and over, and that I have already stung the baddies with him this season, there is little to add. My thoughts have always been the same, he has a big pot in him, the penalty for his victory at York isn't ideal though if he runs I shall play, if he loses I will revisit, fairly simple. Fifth Position is another I have followed and he has been fairly good to me, despite this I was a little surprised he was beaten last time and though I suspect he could go well, he has had a hard enough season. Tempus has progressed at a fair rate and again impressed when readily dismissing his rivals at Ascot. Prior to that he was awarded a muddling race at Newbury in the Stewards room, in short he is as progressive as anything else, he is probably a fair amount ahead of his mark and he is well bred. Sir Busker is no stranger to this type of race and is as consistent a horse as you will find, this should be run to suit him though he needs everything to fall into place for win purposes and his mark makes this task rather daunting for win purposes. Montatham refused to settle and paid the price when turned over at Sandown, before that he had looked a fair weapon and his chance would be clear if settling. Certain Lad deserved his turn when winning in Group 3 company last time, his penalty for that demands more though he warrants consideration with a decent 7lbs claimer on board. King Carney raced freely enough when just behind Tempus at Newbury, his pull in the weights with that rival today gives him every chance and he received my ''Saver'' play.

Sinjaari (Win - 8/1)

King Carney (E/W - 8 Places, 16/1)


17:40 Ripon

Mark's Choice likes it here and won off an 11lbs higher rating last year. Sent to Redcar earlier in the week and strong in the betting, his laboured 4th looked too bad to be true and it probably was given there was an apparent ''Golden Highway'', which he raced well off. There are clear risks, concerns, or whatever you want to call them but I have failed miserably all week trying to shake him from the old think tank. Currently trading at 8/1, I just can't help but feel this has been planned out, maybe it's hope, anyway I played. Penny Pot Lane ran well at Pontefract last time and that form has been franked since, he would be my idea of the main danger in what will be Ripon's seasonal finale.

Mark's Choice (E/W 8/1)


Before I log off and wish you all a great weekend of punting and warn not to follow any of my picks, I couldn't help but feel She's All In Gold (14/1 in the 17:10) and Miramichi (9/2 in the 14:55) were intriguing runners for trainer Tom Dascombe and jockey Richard Kingscote. Usually that pair are seen to best effect at Haydock (Who also race) perhaps there is a tip somewhere within that decision, for the sake of finding out I bet both though more through hope than expectation. Mutamaded would be a welcome winner for Ruth Carr in the 16:35, he has won three times around here and wouldn't be as big as 20s if the yard were in better form. As always, if you have taken your time reading through.... Thanks a lot and enjoy the weekend.








47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page