top of page
Search
  • Chris Connolly

Eye Catchers - Few Plays

Morning all, something a little different today although I will briefly touch upon what tickles my fancy from the afternoon's cards.


First up, I had suggested that Quick Look could turn into something of a project for me and his Haydock flop did little to dampen my enthusiasm. Always struggling to hold his position and finishing second last probably wouldn't suggest to most that he is worth following but look.... He has done this before, his last three winning marks - 82, 83 and 78. Currently off 84 you would have to think the handicapper will cut him some slack, we already know Mick Easterby likes to land with this horse given he plainly suggested as much last season before Ripon and Chester (Won at the latter) My fear would be the timing, he often wins when heavily backed so don't expect overly generous odds.


Sunset Bay

She had every chance at Newmarket yesterday behind a really impressive winner, normally I wouldn't follow her type but she has caught my eye the last twice. Going forwards I suspect they will go up in trip, the overall impression I get from her is that she wants at least a mile and like a lot of horses... I wasn't convinced she really appreciated Newmarket.


Copper Knight

Performed only moderately when beaten at Haydock in what I thought was an average race for the grade. The trade papers comment pre race was that he was regressive this term though I would strongly suggest his yard will find an opening before long. Previously a winner off 106, his current mark of 95 is likely to drop even further. Delving deeper into his form, York is his place, there is an October meeting (9th and 10th) at that venue and if memory serves there is a suitable race for him (Believe Moss Gill won it last season). Whatever, at six, I can't believe he will continue on this downward spiral for much longer.


15:35 Chester

Penwortham has found another impossible looking draw in stall 11, there have been recent winners of this race from high draws though and his hold up style could be a major positive given there are so many that like to front run. With 4 places on offer, off a 1lbs lower mark than his most recent win, I played.

(E/W, 4 places - 15/2)


16:10 Chester

Aasheq is another well handicapped type, he has shown little this season though he has won here before and this represents a drop in class. Drawn in 3, there is every chance Rachel Richardson will make plenty of use of him and a big run really ought to be on the cards.

(E/W, 4 places - 7/1)


14:50 Musselburgh

This play will probably prove rather foolish given he has failed to fire repeatedly this season and is now 11 years old.... However, Duke Of Firenze has managed to force a play out of me. Obviously fairly well handicapped and a hold up type, this appears as good a chance as he has had all season and a final big run could be on. Powerallied also got a play, he usually runs at Chester though he is 1-1 here and is now 3lbs below his last winning mark, he wouldn't have to improve much upon his last run to land this and is an obvious angle if settling.

Duke Of Firenze (E/W, 4 places - 16/1)

Powerallied (E/W, 4 places - 13/2)


My final play of the day comes in the 16:25 at Nottingham, I would warn at this point that a few of my bets today are about as ''Hunch'' as Hunch gets. Dazzling Dan keeps on disappointing me, I dipped my toes with him last time in the hope that he would finally show something like his best and watched on in shock as he once more failed to do so. Luckily I also bet the winner in his last race and though my patience is bordering on breaking with him, I decided one last play wouldn't make much difference. One bookmaker is offering 3 places, he is 11/1 and would require a fair leap of faith.


Good luck with whatever you have played today, I would say my eye catchers are probably safer than my bets today though I shall hope for the best whilst expecting the worse. Thanks for reading if you have and apologies if this reads as a little rushed..... It was.





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page